6 days ago
91 Views
0 0

Arizona Auto Insurance Law

Written by

As you travel from state to state within the US, the laws pertaining to auto insurance may vary. But when it comes to Arizona auto insurance law the rules are pretty straightforward.

The most frequently asked-about Arizona laws are:

Financial Responsibility

As in all other states, in order to be legally insured to drive in Arizona you must carry the minimum in auto liability insurance. This assures that you are financially responsible in the event of an accident and is often referred to as “financial responsibility”. The minimum in Arizona is 30/15/10 which means $30,000 minimum coverage for all persons injured, $15,000 max for one individual injured, a minimum of $10,000 coverage for property damage.

Although these are the minimums, many insurance experts agree that you should carry more due to the fact that the amount of money needed to cover damages in a claim are very often more than the minimum amounts the state requires. In this case, Arizona auto insurance law falls short of the minimum of $100,000 for bodily injury protection per person and at least $300,000 for property damage costs and physical injury costs recommended. Way short.

Arizona insurance law also requires that you keep proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times. That way in the event of an accident you will able to present proof that you’re financially responsible. The card issued by your insurance company is all you’ll need to keep in the car. If you’re caught without auto liability insurance you’re subject to a $250 fine.

Fault vs No Fault

Arizona law states that in the event of an accident, if you are found not at fault you’re entitled to sue the at-fault party for pain, suffering, and other costs arising out of the accident.

DUI and SR22 laws

If you’re caught driving drunk with a blood alcohol over 0.08 you will have your license suspended or revoked. In order to get it back, you must have your insurance company file an SR22 form with your local DMV. SR22 insurance is more costly because you are now considered a high risk driver. Not all insurers deal with them, so make sure your insurance company will do this for you (if they don’t, they will cancel your policy). You may also need to take a driver’s education course.

Arizona insurance law prohibits DUI plea bargaining, a process that can reduce or drop charges related to a DUI.

Seat Belt Laws

A police officer in Arizona can fine you $10 for not wearing a seat belt, but he or she can’t pull you over for that alone. There must be another infraction, and the seatbelt infraction is secondary.

Age Restrictions

For young drivers age 15 to 18, full driving privileges are granted over time in a process called graduated licensing. A learner’s permit is carried for the first 6 months. Unlike many other states, Arizona insurance law places no restriction on night driving for teens.

Older drivers have an age limit of 70 on automatic renewals.

If you think you may be paying too much for you auto insurance there are many sites where you can compare Arizona auto insurance rates. Many companies can save you as much as $1000 a year in premiums due to the competitive rates they can offer online. And when looking for additional bodily injury and property damage liability insurance from competing companies, it may not be as costly as you think.


Source by Emma Frost

Article Tags:
Article Categories:
Life Guides

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Menu Title
- www3 - ww7